Acharya Nagarjuna University (ANU) in the Guntur District of Andhra Pradesh was established during 1970’s to cater the needs of some Coastal Andhra Pradesh Districts, and especially in-order to reduce the burden upon the Andhra University. Most of the persons, who are into higher education in some of the districts of Coastal Andhra Pradesh are well acquainted with this University in various forms, especially as most of them receives their Academic Degrees from this University, in one form or the other. In this respect my siblings and myself is not an exception. Technically, I qualified two Degrees from this University, i.e. B.A.. & B. Ed.,. But, did these two courses from affiliated colleges.

Though, I’ve been associating with University of Hyderabad (UoH) since 2006 continually for my M.A., M. Phil & Doctorate (Ph.D.,), I’ve a limited experiences with ANU. After my association with UoH, I’ve started to compare ANU with UoH, where-ever I visited the former (ANU) Campus, in various aspects. Presently, in this post, I wish to share with you some of the photographs which depicts the Christian activism among the ANU (Christian) students. Image

Today, i.e. December 6, 2012 a Pre Christmas Celebration is organised in-front of the University Campus in association with the Layman Evangelical Fellowship (LEF), by the ANU Christian Students. And, the same programmes pamphlets/posters like this were released throughout the Campus.

Image

This picture depicts 2011 Semi Christmas celebration. Even after more than a year, this poster is visible on the University Campus, especially to me!!

Image

Youth Meeting in-front of the University at Ananda Jyothy…

Image

ANU Research Scholars and PG & B.Tech Mighty-men organised this!

Image

ANU Christian Youth activism…

Image

This was erected right in-front of the University Main Entrance. I found this in October, 2012.

Christianity as a unique position in the Coastal Districts of Andhra Pradesh, when compared to rest of the other two regions of the State. Suiting to this historic unique position and other contemporary factors, the present activism at ANU or the surroundings areas should be understood. As I’m concentrating upon Dalit Christian aspect for my Doctoral Studies, the present focus upon the Christian activism at ANU interested me a bit.

Leave a Reply

